Review of “Royals: Masters of War #1 (of 6)”

by Rob Williams and Simon Coleby

Being familiar with Williams’ run on “Ghost Rider” in 2011, I was automatically intrigued by what he could do on A) Another comic and B) A Vertigo comic. Normally I ignore the alternative takes on Superheroes but I made an exception this time.

The story: In the year 1940, War has come to Europe and in particular, England. The Rich, Affluent families are unconcerned with the conflict since the peasants are the ones dying anyway. Also, the Rich families have superpowers so they feel that life is going to stay golden for them. And because of those powers, the regular citizens have to put up with them. Due to a truce with the other Powered families, the Royal Family in England has decided to stay neutral in the WWII. However, Prince Henry sees what the war is costing the normal citizens and decides enough is enough.

Art wise: Coleby paints a convincing look at the 1940s in wartime. The colors are muted and the inks are heavy. A layer of grime seems to coat everything except the Rich and Powerful Royal Family. He is able to illustrate the violence and action that can compete with the gore in “Forever Evil”. This being a Vertigo book, I imagine the gore will increase by next issue.

As a book, the premise is interesting but the first issue feels lacking. It’s not very clear if the people of England know the truth about the Royal Family’s powers, and Prince Henry feels too altruistic to have come from relatives who just care about their own safety and pleasure. There is plenty to like about the issue, but not enough to “hook” me yet. I’ll come back for one more issue to see if Williams is building to something that can match “The Wake” or “Trillium”.

Rating: Poor, Fair, Good, Great, Excellent.

4 thoughts on “Review of “Royals: Masters of War #1 (of 6)””

  1. The first few pages were intriguing, but there was a two page “info dump” on the royal family that I found distracting and took me out of the narrative. The characters were all well-written and interesting. I do like Rob William’s 2000 AD work, like TEN SECONDERS and the Wally Squad adventures of DIRTY FRANK, but I was ambivalent about this comic.

  2. I considered this, but put it back for a copy of Egos #1 instead. Sounds like I made the right choice. Too bad, it was an intriguing premise. Perhaps, it’ll pick up now that the exposition is done with . . .

  3. I was disappointed with this, wish I went for Egos #1 instead.
    The idea is mind blowing though! I mean, the thought of the Royal Family actually having any single measurable power beyond wealth is pretty out there.

Leave a comment