Loose Ends

Christian Ward talks about his journey into professional comics-Pat

Circling back to Josh’s manga article, here’s some more context on sales via the numbers for Attack On Titan in the United States-Pat

Laura Hudson on comics diversity in Wired-Pat

A deeply flawed poll on what sells comics-Josh

Kris Anaka on the evolution of his Emma Frost illustrations-Pat

The ten Sci Fi novels people all pretend to read but you actually should. Includes commentary from multiple science fictions writers, including, bloody Paul Cornell. I co-sign 1984 one hundred percent but couldn’t get through Infinite Jest-Pat

Promo stuff from the new Vixen animated series-Josh

One of these days I’m going to get back to that Shaft series-Cosmo

18 thoughts on “Loose Ends”

  1. I don’t buy books and I don’t read books, not enough pictures… Although I just experienced my first used book store binge this past weekend and now I want to read so many books. The only problem is I have no idea what to read. I found myself going through books like comics. Grab a random book off the shelf, open it up, flip through…hmmm this one looks the same as the last one, words. Anyways, I picked up a few books I thought looked cool, but now this sci fi books list is my new list! I have something to look for next used book store visit. Yay!

    1. Amazon reviews are normally pretty accurate. Regardless, the best rule for reading books is that if you aren’t loving it by page 50, chuck the book in the trash and try another one. No shame in that.

  2. Hmm, I’ve only read two of those (1984 & Foundation). A few of the others have been lingering way too long on my to-read list (looking at you Dune).

    Also, Philip K Dick’s Do Androids Dream of Electronic Sheep should really be on that list as well. The movie’s great and everything, but the book is fabulous . . . .

      1. More so than Jonathan Strange? That was a bestseller when it came out,

        Speaking of 1984, what about other English class staples like Huxley’s Brave New World, Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 or Vonnegut’s Slaughter House Five? I would wager all of those are as widely read (or not) as 1984. (And yes, I’m not assuming that everyone assigned a book for a class actually read it)

        1. I think all those books you mentioned are read more then 1984 as is the case with Jonathan Strange and Androids Dream

          1. I don’t know if it was because I was forced to read them but 1984, Brave New World and Fahrenheit 451 made no impression on me whatsoever. Then again sci fi is kind of a tough sell form me. I like sci fi but it has to be really special for me to stay interested in it. I prefer fantasy, mystery, and horror. A good book is a good book though.

  3. I highly recommend Jurassic Park, Hot Zone, The Naked and the Dead, Doctor Sleep and Nos4a2 (1 of which is definitely not science fiction and 3 out of the other 4 are debatable). Anything by Bernard Cornwell specifically the “warlord chronicles” and the “saxon tales” are excellent. They are historical fiction with (maybe a tiny bit of fantasy) but I think Walter White’s tastes align enough with my own that he would love them. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=skwLZDzBIfg

  4. Any list of must read sci-fi novels that doesn’t have STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND on it is incomplete.

    And for anyone who loves sci-fi horror in the vein of Alien, I would recommend STAR WARS:RED HARVEST as well as STAR WARS:DEATH TROOPERS.

    1. Well, if we’re listing essential sci-fi reads, then you need the above-mentioned Dick and Lem (might as well start with Do Androids Dream & Solaris), plus Arthur C Clark (Childhood-s End). If we’re grouping Vonnegut with sci-fi he’s a must read as well. Hell, he’s a must read regardless of genre — one of my all-time favorite authors . . .

      1. And can’t forget H,G. Wells for Time Machine or War of the Worlds.

        Not sure if Zamyatin’s We counts as sci-fi. It is the first dystopian novel, serving as an inspiration for both Orwell and Huxley, so perhaps. He did definitely write some short stories which were “speculative” fiction . . .

        1. Wouldn’t narrowing down an essential list of sci-fi literature to just 10 books be literally impossible?

          1. No more or less than narrowing down the 10 most essential albums or movies or anything like that . . .

            But yes, 10 is a rather arbitrarily limiting number . . .

            1. I would argue more so as albums have only existed since the mid 20th century where as literature has existed for almost the entirety of human civilization.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s