Uncover the Best Covers! 9/18/2013

Every Thursday, each staff member will chose his favorite cover of the week to showcase here.

We were walking down the street, my little girly and me

On a pleasant day in June when it was all su-nny

She had a little pink umbrella that bumped against her knee

I said, “Girl, it’s freakin’ hot! It don’t even look rain-y!”

She smiled as she opened it so I could see

She said, “Baby, you’re so dumb! It’s just to COVER me!”

Ghostmann uncovers…

Daredevil #31

dd2011031-dc11-lr-68d5c_gallery_primary (1)
Again, Chris Samnee channels the late great spirit of Will Eisner and delivers a wonderful cover that is perfectly designed to do what it’s suppose to – make you wanna read the story inside.

Cover Art By Chris Samnee

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Ithosapien uncovers…

Six-Gun Gorilla #4 (Cover A)

The colorrrrrrrrrrssssssssssss...
The colorrrrrrrrrrssssssssssss…

Cover Art by Ramon Perez

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Ukerupp uncovers…

Morning Glories #31

Having recently graduated from college, I can still vividly remember the incalculable hours I spent shut in the library surrounded by books with my laptop next to me showing 20 different tabs containing pages of articles scarcely decipherable.  The character's facial expression is one I pray not mirror for eons.  Morning Glories is a title I have had on my radar since it was first published, yet I have never read a single issue.  Now that I am all caught up with Locke & Key, I think I have found my next project.
Having recently graduated from college, I can still vividly remember the incalculable hours I spent shut in the library surrounded by books with my laptop next to me showing 20 different tabs containing pages of articles scarcely decipherable. The character’s facial expression is one I pray not mirror for eons. Morning Glories is a title I have had on my radar since it was first published, yet I have never read a single issue. Now that I am all caught up with Locke & Key, I think I have found my next project.

Cover Art by Rodin Equejo

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Nightwing97 uncovers…

 Zero #1

As if I didn't have enough to praise about this book, the COVER is simple yet striking. I want this as a poster on my wall!
As if I didn’t have enough to praise about this book, the COVER is beautiful! So simple, yet so striking. I want this framed on my wall!

Cover Art By Michael Walsh

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Phess1 uncovers…

Captain Marvel #16

This is what Clint Barton is busy doing when he IS an Avenger.

Cover Art By Joe Quinones

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Cosmo uncovers…

Infinity #3 Variant

Temper, Children. Mind your temper, now . . .

Cover Art By Skottie Young

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Now let’s give a warm round of applause for what
Chris uncovers…

Batman and Robin #23.3 (Ra’s al Ghul)

My choice of cover for this week features Ra’s Al Ghul in a classic pose (expertly provided by the amazing Pat Gleason, who is as great a cover artist as you could wish for) and is, in my opinion, one of the most effective of the 3D covers so far (check out the green specs of flame rising against their own glow and rejoice in the 3D goofiness of it all). For once, green on green actually works! In fact, it not only works, but it also looks fucking badass!

Cover Art By Patrick Gleason

16 thoughts on “Uncover the Best Covers! 9/18/2013”

    1. Thanks, it may actually be my favorite 3D cover so far. I specifically went around every title on the shelves at my LCS just to make sure that it was the one, but it definitely was. DD would have been my number 2 choice!

  1. Really like that Daredevil cover. Possibly my favourite of the run so far. And enjoying Mark Waid bringing back some of DD’s slightly lesser used foes lately. Stiltman, now The Jester. It really doesn’t need to be Bullseye, Kingpin and Elektra all the time.

    When I was a little kid my first exposure to Daredevil was in some little black and white reprinty thing of DareDevil #5. DareDevil against The Matador. I think we should start a campaign! Bring back The Matador! Mind you because of that old reprint to this day I still prefer the old yellow and Red DD costume and I don’t see them bringing that back either.

    And as long as we’re on the subject of nice Daredevil art I’d like to give a quick mention to Javier Rodriguez who pencilled Daredevil #28. That 3/4 page panel in the centre of the book. A “homage” to the cover of The Defenders #24, where they took on the Sons of the Serpent. Beautiful. Samnee gets all the props for his art on this book but that panel has been the best of the entire run for me. Love me some Defenders.

    Also love those Skottie Young covers. Shame they’re always on the more expensive variants.

    1. Waid’s far from being done. We may just see The Matador yet!

      I’m also pretty sure that if he could, he’d bring back the yellow and black. But the powers-that-be would likely never allow.

  2. You guys all picked some great covers this week. Six Gun Gorilla is a pretty cool comic by the way just FYI. I think it’s low on everyone’s radar.

    1. Some great covers here.
      I didn’t pick it up but that Ra’s al Ghul is pretty awesome.
      But I am happy Six Gun Gorilla made the cut. Beautiful cover!

      1. The issue was good, but not great. It provided a neat insight into Ra’s psyche, as well as a potted history of the character and his life. You didn’t miss anything important, however, just a fun little one-off about Ra’s.

    2. Six Gun Gorilla looks amazing! I have a buddy who keeps bugging me to get it. I keep saying I’m waiting for the collection. But it is definitely in my own person “why am I not buying this”. I have a feeling I will bite the bullet and catch up before the last one, and then still get the collection. That’s a money losing strategy I often employ.

Leave a comment